Oriental Tea House + Hu Tong = Delicious Chinese in Prahran

There are two fantastic chinese restaurants I’ve tried in the past two weeks. The first was during Chinese New Year and an oasis in flash flooding: Oriental Tea House in Prahran. The restaurant is set in a tea and homewares shop and the dishes are few but precise and a little more expensive because of its boutique positioning.

We shared dumplings, fish, buns and dessert while being treated to traditional dragon dancing. It is wonderfully colourful and very loud with the drums and yes, I am still scared of the dragon and the bald man mask who are integral stars of the show. I think it stems back to my cousins chasing me around our Chinese grandfather’s house wearing the dragon costume many years ago.

The other place is, I suggest, the best yum cha in Melbourne I’ve tried so far: Hu Tong on Commercial Road also in Prahran. It’s one of the fancier (read: quieter, less crowded) yum cha places but still competitively priced. And the quality of the food ranks this yum cha experience above others. It’s fresh and the servings decently sized. We shared 5 dishes, had tea and a glass of wine and split the bill at around $30 per person. And we almost rolled out.

I would recommend both places, probably Hu Tong first but Oriental Tea House is well positioned on Chapel Street and closer to the action.

 

[Note: pictures to come… I’m having trouble uploading to the computer!]

 


2 comments


Leave a comment