La Mirada Film Festival: LA ISLA INTERIOR (The Island Inside)

La película fue una historia intensamente emocional de la familia. Disfruté de ello mucho.

It was an intense afternoon yesterday at the La Mirada Film Festival at the screening of La Isla Interior (viewed at ACMI), a sophisticated film exploring the lives of a family coping with schizophrenia, sexual abuse and an over-controlling mother who feels she must carry the responsibility of the whole family to function.

A highly emotional and deeply thoughtful cast connect and tell their stories in a believable way. At first I thought there was a need to have a larger role of someone ‘not impacted by a mental illness or abused past’ but perhaps this is my reaction to such a poignant portrayal of what is perhaps closer to the reality of such a situation than I wish to admit.

The screening was followed by a charming Q and A with actor Antonio de la Torre where most of the audience questions were about the actors’ preparation and management of such intensely emotional roles.

I really enjoyed this movie directed by Félix Sabroso and Dunia Ayas. It has inspired and nurtured my quest to better learn the Spanish language and nuances of the culture.

SYNOPSIS: Directors Félix Sabroso and Dunia Ayaso present this film about a dysfunctional family: Martín wants to leave his parents’ house and become a writer in Paris. His sister, Gracia, is tormented by the fictitious narrative her life has turned into. As for Coral, the remaining sister, she just yearns to be loved. The forthcoming death of their schizophrenic father forces them to leave their inner island in which they live in spiritual isolation. The astonishing script written by the directors is paralleled by a no-less impressive cinematography the use of colour and light are outstanding. Exceptional performances by a remarkable cast, featuring the wonderful Geraldine Chaplin and Candela Peña, provide a light, at times funny quality to their dramatic circumstances. Be enlightened by actor Antonio de la Torre’s personal experience working on this film, that is possibly the most inspiring drama of last year’s Spanish cinema. [from the La Mirada Film Festival website]

20 comments

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the internet will be much more useful
    than ever before.

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  3. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your blog. It seems like some of the written text on your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had
    this happen before. Many thanks

  4. I noticed that it’s hard to find your site in google, i found it on 22th spot, you should
    create some social bookmarks to rank it in google and increase traffic. I had the same problem with my blog, your should search in google for – Insane google ranking boost – it helped me a lot

  5. The fully-functional, self-contained kitchen replete with a fridge, gas burner, toaster, water filter, microwave oven, electric kettle, crockery, cutlery
    and glassware adds to the cheer generated by the
    uplifting decor. Spend your hard earned money on indulging in yourself rather than tipping hotel staff from the time to check
    in to the time you check-out. Whereas in rented
    accommodation, you will have to call the agencies providing
    electrician and plumber help. They also feel that they can move
    more freely as if they are in their own homes while enjoying some of
    the things that only hotels usually offer.


Leave a Reply

