The Mill (71 Hardware Lane), Proud Mary (Collingwood) and good times with Laura and Katie

Last weekend I was lucky enough to have a night out with my gorgeous girls: Sydney friend Laura and Melbourne-then-Sydney-now-back-in-Melbourne friend Katie. They are such beautiful women and we always have a ball sharing laughs, thoughts, hopes, dreams, fears and drinks. On Saturday we ventured into the city to Hardware Lane for some top nosh at The Mill, an awesome restaurant I actually sampled and loved a few years ago when it first opened during a trip to Melbourne.

I had two entrees – wasabi crusted baby squid followed by the gorgonzola tart with beetroot, poached pear, roquette and carrot salad. Laura had the rosemary and palm sugar smoked  lamb and Katie had the Eye Fillet with horseradish mash.

Dessert was amazing! Katie had the sticky date with honey roasted walnuts and La and I shared the chocolate tart with double dark swiss chocolate ice cream and espresso ganache.

The girls drank cocktails, red and white wine after sending back one glass and swapping another and I enjoyed my usual Grey Goose.

One of the best parts of the experience was our delightful waitress, aka our new best friend, who was helpful and friendly without being sickly sweet. She had a sense of humour and was efficient. She over-delivered but without contempt for our requests and questions.

I really enjoyed our experience at The Mill. My background in hospitality and passion (as weird as it sounds) for the industry means I am always looking at the experience of dining out as a whole: the food, the decor, the vibe, the staff and the extra sparkle that really makes something memorable.

The next morning we nursed our sore heads at one of my favourite local cafes Proud Mary in Collingwood (cnr Oxford and Stanley St). The 15 minute walk in the crisp air to the cafe from my place also helped before we tucked into their yummy coffee and comfort foods.

Here are a couple of pics but only from Proud Mary. As I’ve expressed before, I’m not a very good food blogger because I generally eat the food before I remember to take a pic!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments

  1. Love it – every word describes exactly how I feel…
    Only desert my love… maybe one too many Grey Goose was consumed already, we had bread and butter pudding with rasberry! Ha-ha, unless you quickly ordered and consumed the tart while I was in the loo? x

  2. What a lovely post! Thanks so much for your nice comments huni 🙂
    So funny about the swapping of the wines – Morgan was so nice about it. hahaha I sound so greedy because I ate the whole desert to myself, but it was sooo good! I definitly recommend! I think we should take the lovely Cat and Dom WordStormers there when they come down in September!


Leave a Reply

