Yum Cha Cafe (193-195 Exhibition St, Melbourne) … and why I suck at food blogging

The name ‘Yum Cha Cafe‘ made me suspicious about the authenticity of the yum cha being served at ‘Yum Cha Cafe’ – it sounds kind of ‘Westernised’. I’ve been past it many times and while the interior looks inviting I just wasn’t sure what I would be getting. But, I ventured in with my cousin last Sunday and was very pleasantly surprised – what a find!

The interior is stunning with a bar,  paintings, tea in jars, decorative bird cages and lanterns adorning the red and black fit-out. We were seated (with no booking – although I did call to check and they assured me it would be fine) with no fuss and relished the un-stressful, relatively quiet and serene atmosphere. Yes I know it is the antitheses of yum cha but for a special occasion (it was her birthday), this is the ideal yum cha place for small groups wanting to be ‘trolley fed’ in luxury.

There was a great selection of food and the quality was impressive. We shared prawn dumplings, scallops wrapped in wontons, Chinese broccoli with oyster sauce, prawn rice noodle, and mixed dumplings (prawn, beef, duck – YUM!). We finished off with mini darn tarts (egg custard tarts) that were not as good as the bigger ones that usually come served warm. And so we also tried the custard buns for a more satisfactory ending! They were yummy with a coconut flavour as well.

I would recommend Yum Cha Cafe for a relaxed lunch where you can sit back, not feel rushed and enjoy the food and good service.

YUM CHA CAFE: 193-195 Exhibition Street, Melbourne (cnr Exhibition Street & Little Bourke Street). Tel: 9662 9668

… And Why I Suck at Food Blogging

I really wanted to show you each dish because they were worth photographing but every time a new dish came out I was overcome with excitement and before I could get the camera out we’d eaten it all. And this is why I suck at food blogging – it happens every time!

So you’ll have to excuse these two lame looking pics I did manage to get of the scallop wontons and gai lan!

One comment

  1. This looks and sounds incredible Kimberley! You do go to some marvellous places! I love the decor and the sound of this food – I hope they open one up in England, I’ll be straight through those doors!


Leave a Reply

