theMediaPod Dinner – sharing my PR journey

Last night I was honoured to be invited to dine with PR students from Deakin university for one of theMediaPod sessions, an extra curricular which they host for students who want to further explore their future professions. Held at La Notte in Carlton (delicious food and an ideal private function area), the dinner set the scene for a casual chat about what it’s like to work in PR. And chat we did!

The group had some intelligent questions and I could have talked for hours about new communications and the changing landscape of PR, daily activity and the different kinds of PR such as consumer/FMCG and corporate reputation management. I did my best to keep on track but found myself going off on tangents realising along the way that there could be an eBook on the horizon…

Here are a few of my thoughts:

  • consume as much media as possible so you get to know the media outlets and their journalists
  • push your boundaries: think about other ways of saying/doing/seeing/writing about things
  • nurture your relationships with media
  • get the basics right: correct spelling, grammar and attention to detail is important
  • be flexible but don’t compromise your integrity
  • be resilient and able to take criticism (and rejection!) constructively
  • never underestimate the power of a phone call and face-to-face
  • don’t forget your manners!

I would like to thank the delightful  Chloe Partikas for putting me forward as a ‘person of interest’. I met Chloe one Friday morning at socialmelb a week or two earlier where we chatted about her very exciting work placement in Sydney later this year.

Thank you Ross Monaghan – it was so great to finally meet you and thank you in person for the help you offered a year ago when I was trying to remotely access my work server! It’s wonderful that you have theMediaPod sessions; your students are lucky to have you as a mentor and inspiration.

A fantastic group of people – definitely ones to watch!


PS: keep an eye on the parkyoung Facebook for news of the potential eBook (ok, now that I’ve put it out there, it has to happen!)

PPS: here is a lovely recount of the evening from one of the students – Lauren – in her beautiful blog Paper Aeroplane (thanks lovely! x)

4 comments

  1. What a great opportunity to share your experience.

    For me, the most important take away from your post is this: “consume as much media as possible” – it resonates with what I am thinking/ writing about at the moment.

    Looks like ParkYoung could become a mini publisher with all these ebooks floating around! It will be great to read your contribution to the library…

  2. Thank you for the lovely comments and the blog link Kimberley!
    I hope we can catch up at a SocialMelb function in the near future.
    Lauren x

  3. Thank – you for the blog link too.

    Hopefully I’ll see you one Friday before I go up to Sydney and I will have my notepad and pen out, writing down tips on your favourite places to go.

    xx

  4. Chloe Partikas has very good judgement – you are a person of interest Kimberley! I hope you will feature in my Blogspotlight interview in the future!


Leave a Reply

