Thai Foon, Darling Harbour Sydney

During my luxurious weekend in Sydney with my gorgeous family we went to a fabulous Thai restaurant in Darling Harbour called Thai Foon. I am quite picky when it comes to Thai food – quite often I feel the dishes are too oily or one flavour dominates the whole dish but the balance of fresh ingredients of the Thai Foon offering was just right.

My family enjoy their food and we all cook, even my 17 year old brother! The Chinese influence means we are great believers in sharing our dishes which is great because it means you get to sample more options from the menu. The menu is extensive but not overwhelming with choice and there are more creative recipes mixed with the usual traditional Thai fare. I wish I could remember exactly what was in each dish but Saturday seems like such a long time ago now! I hope you can see well enough in the pics I took in the dimly lit restaurant.

We chose crispy skin duck, sizzling mixed meat dish, whole snapper flash fried with sweet chilli, Thai style seasonal vegetables with rice noodles.  All were delicious and the flavours well married so the freshness of the ingredients could be appreciated.

My only criticism of the evening was the noise level. At the risk of sounding like and oldie it was a bit too loud – it’s not the kind of place to go for a quiet evening. But overall, yes I would recommend Thai Foon as one of the better Harbourside restaurants.

THAI FOON

Shop 329-330 Level 2, Harbourside Shopping Centre
Darling Drive, Darling Harbour
Sydney NSW 2000

Ph: 02 9281 2005

Leave a Reply

