Brunswick Music Festival

I had every intention of blogging last night but I was so exhausted I fell asleep on the couch at 8.30 pm. But I have a very good excuse – earlier that day I went to my first yum cha in Melbourne and then went to explore the Brunswick Music Festival.

I loooove yum cha and used to go regularly in Sydney with friends, family and sometimes I’d take my Grandfather (‘Goong Goong’ in Chinese). Having not yet found somewhere or someone to go with here in Melbourne I jumped at the chance to head to the Shark Fin Inn with the handsome couple Marcus and Steve. We had an absolute ball!

Highly recommend the venue at the Spring St end of Little Bourke Street. The service was amazing for yum cha – the trolley ladies were smiley and came around frequently. We chowed down on prawn dumplings, pork buns, gai lan, chicken puffs, egg rolls and more.

Rolling out of there we headed to Sydney Road for the Brunswick Music Festival to meet my friend Khara. A very eclectic mix of acts and crowd but with a buzzing vibe and more delicious looking (no, we didn’t eat again!) food stalls. Not sure I would go again but a fun vibe, just a little overwhelmingly busy with so many different tunes playing, aromas wafting and people scuttling along for my tastes.

Headed home and well and truly crashed and burned.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

