Puedo aprender a hablar español (I am learning to speak Spanish)

About two years ago I started to learn to speak Spanish at a charming school called The Spanish Cat en la Calle Liverpool en Sydney (translation: Liverpool St, Sydney). I made it through Beginner with excitement and dedication to study and then Level 1 with a little less rigor but still thoroughly enjoying learning a language other than English.

I can only speak English but have dabbled in Japanese when I was around twelve years old and French as a teenager then at uni for one semester. No, I am not proficient at either of these now. But I would like to be bilingual and have chosen Spanish for its diversity across the globe and it is such a happy sounding, relatively easy language to learn at this late stage in life.

And so, last week, I began learning at The Spanish Cat en la Calle Little Bourke en Melbourne. Starting again from Beginner will no doubt be a solid way to rebuild the basics I have forgotten. I am also learning with a friend, Khara, who has also done a little (un poco en Espanol) during school and uni.

We have vowed to practice diligently and really learn basic speaking well. Being able to speak with someone else is the best way to learn.

Tonight we felt we made good progress conjugating verbs and irregular verbs such as hacer (to make) and ir (to go). Khara and I will try to use the Spanish words we know in everyday so if I throw a few words into conversation here or there it is for the good of my learning.

I highly recommend The Spanish Cat for its methods of writing, repeating and using in context. The classes are not too big at around eight to ten students and you get a workbook as well. Best of all, the hour and a half does fly by because the classes are also fun. And although I am learning, I am still all about the fun! Si or no?

10 comments

  1. Si, esta bien! I studied Spanish for 9 years but it’s all but faded away. Recently, I’m trying to brush up on my Japanese and found some great free iPhone apps to help out. Good luck and have fun!

  2. Muchas gracias mi amigos! Thank you all for stopping by and taking the time to comment – much appreciated.

    Steinar – I’ve got a couple of great Spanish apps but always on the lookout for more. Are you learning Japanese in preparation for a trip or just so it doesn’t fade completely?

    Khara – so excited to have you here in Melbourne. You are a real gem. x

    Josh – gracias! now, just to check, did you say ‘that’s a good idea, I can use it in many places’? I will take you up on the offer and test some of my learnings on you next time I see you. Buenas noches mi amigo. Hasta luego!

  3. How’s learning going? I’m also trying to learn Spanish, as it should help me at work. You might want to check out a site called http://www.livemocha.com. It’s like a social networking site for learning language. Besides having free language courses (including Spanish), you get an opportunity to connect with people who speak the language natively and can help you practice. Buena suerte!

  4. Hola KimberleyL!

    Soy originario de México, pero vivo actualmente en Georgia, US y para aquellos que quieran aprender mas de WordPress he hecho varios videos tutoriales en Español. Espero que les ayuden a aprender algo de Español también.

    Hi, I’m originally from Mexico, but I’m currently living in Georgia, US, and for those who might want to learn more about WordPress, I made some video tutorials in Spanish. I hope these videos will help you to learn some Spanish as well.

    Cheers,

    http://www.puedoaprender.org/

  5. Before you spend hundreds of dollars on other Spanish learning programs, give this one a try. I’ve tried demos of the more expensive programs, and considering their prices, they did not impress me. Learn to Speak Spanish Deluxe offers similar content as the other more expensive programs, but at a fraction of the cost. This is an excellent program that is easy to…

  6. This is a terrific program – I needed to learn the basics of Spanish for a business trip to Lima, Peru. It got me prepared for the trip with alot of useful Spanish to use on the trip, from transportation to restaurants, to dealing with store vendors and in a few situations on the weekend when we went sightseeing.

  7. Whats up very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .
    . Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I am happy to seek out so many helpful information right here within the publish, we need develop more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .


Leave a Reply

