In plain English

I’ve never been one for jargon but I do enjoy putting words together in a rather poetic, story-telling way. Some would say my sentences are too long with too many words. Too many “do you really need to include that?” words. And as much as I enjoy writing a good yarn, my days of long linguistic sentences are about to change. As of…. now.

I am practicing writing in shorter sentences. This is something I need to learn to do better. I am also striving to use plainer English, to use five words instead of ten but without losing the impact. This means more clever and selective use of vocabulary. I must not use the word “that” as often as I used to.

In the bid to grow a stronger vocabulary I will read more. This will also help me achieve my 2010 goal of reading more. Coincidentally, this is my second blog for the week, another item I am closer to ticking off the list.

Reading this now:

Leave a Reply

