My Melbourne (honeyjoys included!)

It has been a while since my last ‘Operation Relocation: the settling in phase’ post so thought it time to bring you up to speed. Transferred my third rental payment which means I am celebrating three months in Melbourne. Yay! The time has passed quickly though not without leaving an immeasurable impression on me with every passing day.

I have met, connected and am yet to meet many wonderful souls here. I have seen, heard, tasted, smelled, touched and absorbed the magic of this beautiful city and a visit to Sydney has really made me appreciate the differences between the two cities. Although the people I love are an hour flight away, I am very nearly comfortable to call Melbourne ‘home’.

This is not an exhaustive list because I can’t remember the names of some of the places I have been to but these are the ones I remember: Ladro,, MoVida, Silk Road bar/club/meat-market, The George, Joe’s Garage, Jim’s Greek Restaurant, Ethiopian, Noodle by Noodle, Goshen, European Cafe, Akari, International Cakes, the Chinese Restaurant I can’t remember the name of that is at the Spring St end of Chinatown, Shanghai Dumpling House, Solarino, a few of the places in DeGraves, Roule Gallete, Giuseppe Arnaldo & Sons (amazing), Tuscan Bar, The Mess Hall, Tony Starr (& something), Love Machine, Mr Wolf, Mr Tulk, the cafe at the top of the stairs at GPO, a questionable place that my bosses will remember (thanks TY), the good Japanese place my bosses took me to when I started, San Churro, Classic Curry Co., and that’s about all I can remember. Apologies to the places I have left out. (ha, sounds like an acceptance speech list!)

I have also embraced the amazing stalls at the Queen Vic markets and today I had the joy of experiencing the South Melbourne markets which I am smitten with for so many reasons.I breezed through the Arts Markets which I hope to get to next Sunday for some last-minute Christmas gifts and another set of stalls I could see near Fed Square if they’re there next week as well.

And there is still much to discover. How exciting! I will be back in Sydney over Christmas which I am looking forward to but mainly for the people I will be sharing the time with and perhaps a little beach action. I will also be trying to convince everyone to move to Melbourne so I can have the best of everything…

Walking through the Fitzroy Gardens today I took a moment to really enjoy the moment. And I feel truly lucky and happy in my new city of wonders.

x

Taken at Yarra St after grabbing coffee at the amazing cafe there

I felt five years old again eating this giant honeyjoy from the South Melb Markets (cornflakes bound with lashings of honey in a patty-pan)

4 comments

  1. Great to hear you are settling in and embracing your new home. It’s not easy to leave what you know and love BUT you will no doubt be the richer (in experience) for it. If there’s a chance to catch up again whilst you are in Sydney I’d love to!

  2. so awesome! feels like i’m there with you! haha. this blog will be so good to look back on later when you’ve well and truly settled and know melbs inside out. can look back and say “wow, i used to be such a newbie. oh and i still love food just as much!”. haha ❤ Ethiopian pancakes … haha


Leave a Reply

