2010 – the diary

Every year I get excited at the prospect of buying my diary for the coming year. This year I have a black week per view Moleskin and a giant desk diary for work but next year I have decided to go for a red Moleskin – week per view with notes. I agonised for ages, flicking through the different sizes and layouts, trying them on for size the way Paris Hilton poses with her clutches. But one this is certain – you can’t go wrong with a Moleskin.

I put the below pic of my fire engine red diary on Twitter, a tweet responded to by those who share my stationary fetish. But it is not just any stationary that gets me trying on the same thing in more than one colour, in particular it is the diary, the symbolic status of organisation and planning. That, and you have to look at it every day for a whole year!

10 comments

  1. Oh love it! Completely understand the stationary fetish – I get excited just looking at this and you have got me thinking about going out and getting myself ready for 2010 with a new diary.

    My problem is that the new pages just scream out to me to be written on. I don’t think I could control myself with this beauty! Will put in a request with the fam for my own Moleskin for Christmas!

    • I wrote in my new red diary for the first time yesterday… and then the meeting changed and I had to use liquid paper. Devastated! Back to pencil for me. 🙂 Hope you get a Moleskin for Christmas.

      • I also went from black Moleskin this year to red for next year. I couldn’t resist cracking it open to add the January and February gigs I’m going to. I’m always amazed at how such a beautiful thing can still look great after a year’s worth of being used.

    • hahaha, I know! And I always try and check the pen is dry so it doesn’t smudge the facing page. I’ve actually reverted to pencil in some cases just so I don’t have to use liquid paper if the entry changes. Sad? Or just trying to make the most of being organised?! Thanks for your comment. 🙂


Leave a Reply

