A question for all active bloggers

To all who blog, I have a question you can all answer; it’s an easy one because it’s about you. How long did it take you to get into the blog ‘zone’ where blogging became as second nature as writing emails? When you began blogging, did you have a lot to say but when it came to actually putting it into a post, did you find it challenging? I have surpassed this ‘what should I say’ phase but now it is getting into the rhythm of blogging on a regular basis.

I am interested to learn about your experiences of your first months of being a blogger and any insights, tips, advice you can offer. How do you add value for others with your blog?

Thank you

4 comments

  1. Far from a prolific blogger, it really started as a way to share insights, thoughts etc.. for folk at Soap Syd and LA and clients etc…

    Still early days however far easier to get into the right mindset when you start to see followers and audience pick up and realise people are actually reading your random brain farts.

    A remember reading that Seth http://sethgodin.typepad.com/ and Armano http://sethgodin.typepad.com/ spent a long time blogging to what was a very small audience and that they had some good insights and thoughts around starting and running an active blog.

    Cheers

    • Reading your comment really enforces your advice to remember that people are out there reading and listening. Thank you for your advice, it is very encouraging and means more than you know to a fledgling blogger like me. Not that I felt defeated or on the verge of giving up because I do know these things take time (sometimes, a very long time!) but it has renewed my will to keep on sharing my thoughts which I hope include some good insights for people.

      I checked out your blog as well – some great insight into some of the social media challenges and observations I’ve also come across, particularly re FAIL using Twitter as a PR channel. http://littlemofo.soap.com.au/blog/

      Thank you Ross.

  2. For me it comes in waves.. I have so many ideas, but the day job saps a lot of the stamina and time for me to do it as much as possible. I don’t know when, or if mine could ever be a daily blog; though I have the passion for it. It just hasn’t turned into.. action as yet. As long as it stays as a passion, and not a chore; it doesn’t matter how often you post, as long as you do, and as long as people are commenting, or even tweeting that they checked it out; that’s what is important to me. 🙂

    • I just checked out your blog http://www.pop-couture.com/ – very cool, Kimberley and love the design as well. As you can see I’m still a fresh blogger and have found it somewhat challenging to keep posting regularly for the exact same reasons as you. I do want to make more time to blog because the passion is there and I have so many thoughts and ideas to share that I would love to generate conversation with, but sometimes the action part has been drained by 6pm. (hmmm…possibly why I am blogging at 9am on a Saturday morning – sad or productive, I’m not sure!). Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts; it’s the kind of encouragement that will ensure I keep on blogging.


Leave a Reply

